Exclusive Premiere: Watch Whiskey Myers’ Gritty New Lyric Video for “Mud”

The good ol’ days of swampy Southern rock that were dominated by The Allman Brothers and Lynyrd Skynyrd are still kicking thanks to bands like Whiskey Myers, a seven-piece comprised of Cody Cannon (lead vocals/guitar), Cody Tate (guitar), John Jeffers (guitar), Gary Brown (bass), Jeff Hogg (drums), Jon Knudson (fiddle/keyboard) and Tony Kent (percussion).

Whiskey Myers, which formed in 2008, dropped its fourth album, Mud, on Sept. 9. Produced by Dave Cobb (Sturgill Simpson, Jason Isbell), Mud debuted at No. 4 on Billboard‘s Top Country Albums chart, a testament to the fans the North Texas troupe has gleaned from an extensive tour schedule and the fervor generated from their 2014 album, Early Morning Shakes.

Mud is a 10-song offering that’s full of Southern soul and swagger, including the title track, which features rollicking guitars, a gospel choir and a gritty groove.

“‘Mud’ is for anyone working hard for a living and is willing to lay it all on the line to keep what they have,” says frontman Cody Cannon. “With that in mind, when the time came, it just felt right to call the album Mud, because it’s an album by a bunch of country boys willing to lay it all on the line.”

Check out the lyric video for “Mud” below.


Concert calendar